The yearly Pfizer Oncology Award is worth
25.000€ and is intended to support, recognise and encourage one innovative project in Belgium or Luxemburg that improves the quality and/or availability of patient care in oncology.

The Pfizer Oncology Award is open to any project related to the clinical, surgical and medical or technical aspects of patient care in oncology, but also to different ways of collaboration and/or organisation between various health care providers or between levels of care during the course of the disease.


The Pfizer Oncology Award is inviting health care professionals who are linked to a hospital, a network of hospitals, a university, a certified medical centre or a registered scientific society in Belgium or Luxemburg to submit a project which meets the required criteria (for all details please go to the Rules page).
The project must be developed for improving the quality and/or availability of oncology patient care in Belgium or Luxemburg.
The project may not already be in the implementation phase, but should be in a conceptual or design phase and should start within the year following the distribution of the award.
A set of rules including pre-defined selection criteria has been developed by an independent Scientific Committee who will select the winning project.


  • Prof. Sylvie Rottey, MD, PhD

    Medical Oncologist, Clinical Pharmacologist
    Staff Member of the department  of Medical Oncology Gent University Hospital
    Head of the Drug Research Unit Gent

  • Prof Ahmad Awada, MD, PhD

    Head of the Medical Oncology
    Clinic Jules Bordet Institute - Brussels

  • Dr Guy Berchem, MD, PhD

    Medical Oncologist, Head
    Oncology Platform Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg (CHL) President Luxembourg National Institute of Cancer (INC)

  • Mr. Patrick Crombez RN, AOCNS, MScN, MHCM, MMCA

    Head Nurse Department
    of Hematology, Bordet Institute - Brussels
    President of the Belgian Oncology Nursing Society SIO
    Executive Board Member – Co-Chair Advocacy – European Oncology Nursing Society

  • Prof. dr. em. Jacques De Grève

  • Mr. Sven D’Haese, MSC

    Coordinator of the Radiotherapy Department of UZ Brussel
    Chairman of VVRO (Society for Radiotherapy and Oncology nurses)

  • Prof Guy Jerusalem, MD, PhD

    Head of Medical Oncology
    CHU Sart Tilman Liege

  • Prof. Jean-François Baurain, MD, PhD

    Head of Clinic
    Responsible for melanoma Clinic
    Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc - Brussels

  • Prof. Marc Peeters, MD, PhD

    Head of the oncology department
    at the Antwerp University Hospital
    Coordinator of the Multidisciplinary Oncology Center Antwerp.

  • Prof. Jean-Luc Van Laethem, MD, PhD

    Head of Department of Oncology
    and gastrointestinal oncology Unit Hôpital Erasme - ULB

  • Prof. Gregor Verhoef, MD, PhD

    Head Clinical Department of Hematology and Laboratory for Experimental Hematology
    UZ leuven

  • Dr Lore Decoster, MD, PhD

    Medical Oncology
    UZ Brussel


Submit your project
via the online application form

Take a look
at the rules